Skip to main content.
James

James F. Scales

Grand Rapids MI

Please feel free to contact this attorney's secretary, Penny

  1. Legal Team

Jim received a bachelor of science degree from Michigan State University and a law degree from the University of Michigan Law School. Since 1987, Jim's law practice has involved him in real estate, construction, estate planning, and property taxation matters. Jim also has extensive experience in municipal law, zoning, utilities, and related issues. He has earned the Certificate of Completion for ICLE’s Probate and Estate Planning Program, and lectures regularly on zoning, municipal and estate planning topics.

In addition to his law practice, Jim has been actively involved in many civic and service organizations. He currently serves as chairman on the City of Rockford Planning Commission and is past president of the Rockford Education Foundation and Rockford Sports Boosters.

Best Lawyers Award Badge

 

Areas of Practice

Estate Planning
Municipal Law
Real Estate
Construction Property Tax

Honors and Awards:

Listed in Best Lawyers of America

Bar Associations

Michigan, 1987

Education

The University of Michigan Law School
Ann Arbor, Michigan, 1987
Honors: Cum Laude

Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan, 1984

Professional Associations and Memberships

City of Rockford Planning Commission
Rockford Education Foundation

Lawyer Locator

Type the first characters of a lawyer's name. Click their name to view contact information and an option for additional details.

  • John C. Arndts

    John C. Arndts

    • 616-632-8028
    • jarndts@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Bankruptcy & Creditor Rights, Business & Commercial, Commercial Lending, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Joshua D. Beard

    Joshua D. Beard

    • 616-632-8043
    • jbeard@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Aviation, Civil Litigation, Energy & Natural Resources, Environmental, Municipal, Tax

    • More Information
  • Elizabeth K. Bransdorfer

    Elizabeth K. Bransdorfer

    • 616-632-8029
    • ebransdorfer@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Alternative Dispute Resolution, Civil Litigation, Colleges & Universities, Custody, Divorce, Family Law, Public Schools

    • More Information
  • Scott S. Brinkmeyer

    Scott S. Brinkmeyer

    • 616-632-8011
    • sbrinkmeyer@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Alternative Dispute Resolution, Civil Litigation

    • More Information
  • James R. Brown

    James R. Brown

    • 616-632-8031
    • jbrown@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Municipal, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Daniel J. Broxup

    Daniel J. Broxup

    • 616-632-8059
    • dbroxup@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Civil Litigation, Immigration, Securities

    • More Information
  • Nikole L. Canute

    Nikole L. Canute

    • 616-632-8049
    • ncanute@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Energy & Natural Resources, Labor & Employment, Securities

    • More Information
  • Ronald J. Clark

    Ronald J. Clark

    • 616-632-8000
    • rclark@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation

    • More Information
  • Andrea D. Crumback

    Andrea D. Crumback

    • 616-632-8051
    • acrumback@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Criminal Law, Family Law, Tax

    • More Information
  • John M. DeVries

    John M. DeVries

    • 616-632-8012
    • jdevries@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Energy & Natural Resources, Environmental

    • More Information
  • Benjamin C. Dilley

    Benjamin C. Dilley

    • 616-632-8014
    • bdilley@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Personal Injury & Wrongful Death

    • More Information
  • Douglas A. Donnell

    Douglas A. Donnell

    • 616-632-8035
    • ddonnell@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Colleges & Universities, Environmental, Municipal

    • More Information
  • Scott E. Dwyer

    Scott E. Dwyer

    • 616-632-8033
    • sdwyer@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Civil Litigation, Colleges & Universities, Entity Formation, Health Care, Labor & Employment, Mergers & Acquisitions, Municipal, Public Schools

    • More Information
  • David R. Fernstrum

    David R. Fernstrum

    • 616-632-8015
    • dfernstrum@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Alternative Dispute Resolution, Business & Commercial, Colleges & Universities, Employee Benefits, Health Care, Labor & Employment, Municipal, Public Schools

    • More Information
  • Bradley A. Fowler

    Bradley A. Fowler

    • 616-632-8086
    • bfowler@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Municipal

    • More Information
  • Larry J. Gardner

    Larry J. Gardner

    • 616-632-8038
    • lgardner@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Energy & Natural Resources, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions

    • More Information
  • Fredric N. Goldberg

    Fredric N. Goldberg

    • 616-632-8010
    • fgoldberg@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Colleges & Universities, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Securities, Technology & Intellectual Property Law

    • More Information
  • John H. Gretzinger

    John H. Gretzinger

    • 616-632-8027
    • jgretzinger@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Labor & Employment, Municipal, Public Schools

    • More Information
  • Michael C. Haines

    Michael C. Haines

    • 616-632-8013
    • mhaines@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Energy & Natural Resources

    • More Information
  • William A. Horn

    William A. Horn

    • 616-632-8016
    • whorn@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Energy & Natural Resources, Environmental, Municipal, Tax

    • More Information
  • Michael J. Huff

    Michael J. Huff

    • 616-632-8040
    • mhuff@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Philip M. Idema

    Philip M. Idema

    • 616-632-8000
    • pidema@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Family Law, Real Estate, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Neil P. Jansen

    Neil P. Jansen

    • 616-632-8052
    • njansen@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Alternative Dispute Resolution, Civil Litigation, Environmental, Real Estate, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • David N. Keyser

    David N. Keyser

    • 616-632-8000
    • dkeyser@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Criminal Law, Family Law

    • More Information
  • Neil L. Kimball

    Neil L. Kimball

    • 616-632-8026
    • nkimball@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate, Tax, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Daniel J. Kozera

    Daniel J. Kozera

    • 616-632-8000
    • dkozera@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Health Care, Real Estate, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Daniel R. Kubiak

    Daniel R. Kubiak

    • 616-632-8018
    • dkubiak@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Bankruptcy & Creditor Rights, Business & Commercial, Commercial Lending, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Kimberly M. Large

    Kimberly M. Large

    • 616-632-8024
    • klarge@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Labor & Employment, Technology & Intellectual Property Law, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • David S. Lefere

    David S. Lefere

    • 616-632-8000
    • dlefere@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Commercial Lending, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate, Tax, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Ross A. Leisman

    Ross A. Leisman

    • 616-632-8017
    • rleisman@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Automobile Accidents, Business & Commercial, Civil Litigation, Criminal Law, Municipal, Personal Injury & Wrongful Death, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Christopher D. Matthysse

    Christopher D. Matthysse

    • 616-632-8042
    • cmatthysse@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Stephen J. Mulder

    Stephen J. Mulder

    • 616-632-8025
    • smulder@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Entity Formation, Health Care, Mergers & Acquisitions, Tax, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Mark E. Nettleton

    Mark E. Nettleton

    • 616-632-8048
    • mnettleton@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Municipal, Public Finance, Tax

    • More Information
  • Daniel J. Parmeter

    Daniel J. Parmeter

    • 616-632-8020
    • dparmeter@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Jennifer A. Puplava

    Jennifer A. Puplava

    • 616-632-8050
    • jpuplava@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Civil Litigation, Technology & Intellectual Property Law

    • More Information
  • Ronald M. Redick

    Ronald M. Redick

    • 616-632-8053
    • rredick@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Civil Litigation, Environmental, Municipal, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • George V. Saylor

    George V. Saylor

    • 231-723-8333
    • gsaylor@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Municipal, Real Estate, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • James F. Scales

    James F. Scales

    • 616-632-8047
    • jscales@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Municipal, Real Estate, Tax, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • Paige M. Szymanski

    Paige M. Szymanski

    • 231-723-8333
    • pszymanski@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Family Law, Municipal, Real Estate, Securities, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • test1 test1

    test1 test1

  • Timothy J. Tornga

    Timothy J. Tornga

    • 616-632-8090
    • ttornga@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Employee Benefits, Health Care, Labor & Employment, Municipal, Public Schools, Tax

    • More Information
  • Mark A. Van Allsburg

    Mark A. Van Allsburg

    • 616-632-8039
    • mvanallsburg@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Energy & Natural Resources, Municipal, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Claude L. Vander Ploeg

    Claude L. Vander Ploeg

    • 616-632-8000
    • cvanderploeg@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Energy & Natural Resources

    • More Information
  • Randall L. Velzen

    Randall L. Velzen

    • 616-632-8044
    • rvelzen@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Divorce, Family Law, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information
  • James K. White

    James K. White

    • 616-632-8034
    • jwhite@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Municipal, Public Finance, Tax

    • More Information
  • Richard M. Wilson

    Richard M. Wilson

    • 231-723-8333
    • rwilson@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Environmental, Health Care, Municipal, Real Estate

    • More Information
  • Nathaniel R. Wolf

    Nathaniel R. Wolf

    • 616-632-8046
    • nwolf@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Alternative Dispute Resolution, Business & Commercial, Civil Litigation, Colleges & Universities, Immigration, Labor & Employment, Mergers & Acquisitions, Securities

    • More Information
  • Benjamin A. Zainea

    Benjamin A. Zainea

    • 616-632-8019
    • bzainea@mikameyers.com
    • Area of Practice:

      Business & Commercial, Commercial Lending, Entity Formation, Mergers & Acquisitions, Real Estate, Tax, Technology & Intellectual Property Law, Trusts & Estates

    • More Information